Victor Ordonez (+)

5 May 2009 at 5:05 AM | Posted in News | 12 Comments

When it rains, it pours. Augusto Boal died 2 May, as did Al Robles. Yesterday (4 May), multilingual writer Victor Ordonez died in Makati, Philippines, of a lingering illness. He was not primarily a writer, having written only one novel (in English), but his work at UNESCO in Paris was crucial to the development of writing in many countries. He spoke several languages (I don’t know exactly how many, but I saw him talking to delegates in a UN conference in their own languages) and most likely read several more. He spearheaded a number of innovative movements in education, not just in the world (he spent much of his later life in international circles), but in the Philippines, where he served in various capacities in government and the private sector. He was my friend, as he was a friend to countless others, especially writers.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Victor Ordonez and I met at De La Salle University in the 70s. The late Bro. Andrew
    Gonzalez introduced him to me as “young man in a terrible hurry”. To go where, I did not realize nor could I foresee.

    I sensed ambition in him, and an intellectual aura which explains all his achievements before this relatively early demise.

    But I am sure he had carved a good name for himself in the intellectual world; in the rarefied world of global educators.

    I grieve for him. Surely, I cannot ask: O Death, where is thy sting?

    This end that claimed Victor stings badly.

  2. Victor Ordonez and I met at De La Salle University in the 70s. The late Bro. Andrew
    Gonzalez introduced him to me as “young man in a terrible hurry”. To go where, I did not realize nor could I foresee.

    I sensed ambition in him, and an intellectual aura which explains all his achievements before this relatively early demise.

    But I am sure he had carved a good name for himself in the intellectual world; in the rarefied world of global educators.

    I grieve for him. Surely, I cannot ask: O Death, where is thy sting?

    This end that claimed Victor stings badly.

  3. Victor Ordonez and I met at De La Salle University in the 70s. The late Bro. Andrew
    Gonzalez introduced him to me as “young man in a terrible hurry”. To go where, I did not realize nor could I foresee.

    I sensed ambition in him, and an intellectual aura which explains all his achievements before this relatively early demise.

    But I am sure he had carved a good name for himself in the intellectual world; in the rarefied world of global educators.

    I grieve for him. Surely, I cannot ask: O Death, where is thy sting?

    This end that claimed Victor stings badly.

  4. GOD…why do people die around me? We would always pray for sir ordonez, may GOD rest his soul, and the souls of all dead people

    and of course, may GOD bless the living

    i dont know him sir ganni, as sir albert does, but having read how you described him makes me think he is devoted to work and to people

    i want to discover, anyway, about that death phenomenon relating to writers…isnt a writer dead sometimes?

    May GOD give comfort to all those who grieve for him

    Good morning po

  5. GOD…why do people die around me? We would always pray for sir ordonez, may GOD rest his soul, and the souls of all dead people

    and of course, may GOD bless the living

    i dont know him sir ganni, as sir albert does, but having read how you described him makes me think he is devoted to work and to people

    i want to discover, anyway, about that death phenomenon relating to writers…isnt a writer dead sometimes?

    May GOD give comfort to all those who grieve for him

    Good morning po

  6. GOD…why do people die around me? We would always pray for sir ordonez, may GOD rest his soul, and the souls of all dead people

    and of course, may GOD bless the living

    i dont know him sir ganni, as sir albert does, but having read how you described him makes me think he is devoted to work and to people

    i want to discover, anyway, about that death phenomenon relating to writers…isnt a writer dead sometimes?

    May GOD give comfort to all those who grieve for him

    Good morning po

  7. Condoleances to everyone close to Dr. Victor Ordonez. I was happy to have met him on several occasions at UNESCO in Bangkok when I was working there. We will miss him.

    Alida Pham
    Communication and Marketing Officer
    UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education

  8. Condoleances to everyone close to Dr. Victor Ordonez. I was happy to have met him on several occasions at UNESCO in Bangkok when I was working there. We will miss him.

    Alida Pham
    Communication and Marketing Officer
    UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education

  9. Condoleances to everyone close to Dr. Victor Ordonez. I was happy to have met him on several occasions at UNESCO in Bangkok when I was working there. We will miss him.

    Alida Pham
    Communication and Marketing Officer
    UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education

  10. Vic Ordonez was a multi-faceted person. When I was a student, he spoke to my class as a line producer of films. I remember Doy del Mundo, my professor, had difficulty introducing him because of his many outstanding accomplishments. Indeed a model Lasallian.

  11. Vic Ordonez was a multi-faceted person. When I was a student, he spoke to my class as a line producer of films. I remember Doy del Mundo, my professor, had difficulty introducing him because of his many outstanding accomplishments. Indeed a model Lasallian.

  12. Vic Ordonez was a multi-faceted person. When I was a student, he spoke to my class as a line producer of films. I remember Doy del Mundo, my professor, had difficulty introducing him because of his many outstanding accomplishments. Indeed a model Lasallian.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

